Nominations for Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Awards Are Being Requested by the Dearborn Area Chamber

Nominations for the 2015 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Awards, presented by LaFontaine Automotive Group, are being requested from Dearborn Public Schools students for the 2014-2015 school year.  Students are encouraged to recognize oustanding teachers who have made significant contributions in their educational experiences. Nominations can be mailed or faxed to the Dearborn Area Chamber offices and can also be downloaded online at  The deadline for nominations is Thursday, April 2, 2015 at 5:00 pm. Four winning teachers will be recognized, one each from Pre-K through 2nd grade, 3rd through 5th grade, middle and high school at a unique awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 20, 2015 beginning at 4:00 pm at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center in Dearborn.

“We are very excited to once again have the opportunity to recognize some tremendous educators in the Dearborn Public Schools district,” commented Dearborn Area Chamber Education Committee Chair Phil Emma of Global “E” Group. “Teachers make such a positive impact in the lives of our children, and as a result we expect to receive approximately 1,000 nominations again this year.”

The Teacher of the Year Awards began in 1997, under the leadership of Chamber Member Alberta Muirhead. In its first year, 65 nominations were received for 57 teachers in 19 schools. The Dearborn Area Chamber received over 1,000 nominations in 2014.

Teachers selected for this prestigious award will receive a $1,000 cash prize, a glass award commemorating their achievement, and will become part of a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching.

“Each year, the Chamber looks forward to honoring those who have such a wonderful impact on our youth in the Dearborn area,” said Dearborn Area Chamber President Jackie Lovejoy. “The future success of our community depends on the efforts and commitment of our educators and we have some of the best in the Dearborn Public Schools district.”

Community partners sponsoring this nomination process and event are LaFontaine Automotive Group, McDonald’s “The Future,” Dearborn Federal Savings Bank, Gallagher Benefits Services, 1st Choice Urgent Care, Central Michigan University, Dearborn Federation of Teachers, Fairlane Town Center, University of Michigan-Dearborn, Applebee’s of Dearborn Heights, Bangkok 96 Thai Restaurant, Buffalo Wild Wings, Byblos Banquets, Del Taco, Delta Dental, Global “E” Group, Habib’s Cuisine, Henry Ford College, HYPE Athletics, LaPita Mediterranean Restaurant, Sylvan Learning Center, Zeal Credit Union, Dearborn Education Foundation, Mati’s Deli, PKSA Karate of Dearborn, Rugenski Chiropractic, School Life Dearborn, Tim Horton’s, and West Village Dental Care.

The Dearborn Symphony is donating concert tickets to attending teachers at the awards ceremony, Sam’s Club of Southgate will provide reception refreshments, the Glass Academy will donate the glass “apple” awards, and the Henry Ford is donating a membership for each winning teacher.

Education is one of the Dearborn Area Chamber’s core strategies.  Through programs such as Teacher of the Year, the Chamber, a 600+ member organization, cultivates learning and mentoring opportunities between the student population and local business.

For more information, please contact the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce by phone at 313-584-6100. Be sure to follow the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce on Facebook at, on Twitter @DbnAreaChamber and online at for all the latest news and events.